Vincent Lindon To Preside Jury Of Cannes Film Festival 2022


The Cannes International Film Festival has announced its jury members and president for the upcoming 75th festival taking place on May 17-28, 2022. French actor Vincent Lindon will head the competition jury, whose members include Noomi Rapace, Rebecca Hall, Asghar Farhadi, and Joachim Trier. The jury members and their president will unveil their list of winners at this year’s Closing Ceremony.

This year’s jury president, Vincent Lindon, starred in last year’s Palme d’Or winner, Titane, directed by Julia Ducourneau. Lindon won the Best Actor prize back in 2015 for his role as a long-term unemployed man in La Loi du marché (The Measure of a Man), directed by Stéphane Brizé. He is one of these actors who is always fascinating to watch, in any role he plays, whether he is a grieving and wounded fireman (Titane), a man who doubts he ever had a moustache (Emmanuel Carrère’s La Moustache) or the sculptor Auguste Rodin (Jacques Doillon’s Rodin). On a par with French legends, such as Jean Gabin, Vincent Lindon has starred in over 70 films, working with directors including Claire Denis, Benoît Jacquot, Claude Lelouche, Alice Winocour, Xavier Giannoli, and Alain Cavalier.

Lindon is the first French celebrity to be jury president since Isabelle Huppert took up the role in 2009. “It is a great honor and source of pride to be entrusted, in the midst of the tumult of all the events we are going through in the world, with the splendid, weighty task of chairing the Jury of the 75th International Cannes Film Festival,” Vincent Lindon said in a statement. “With my Jury, we will strive to take the best possible care of the films of the future, all of which carry the same secret hope of courage, loyalty, and freedom, with a mission to move the greatest number of women and men by speaking to them of their common wounds and joys. Culture helps the human soul to rise and hope for tomorrow.”

Joining the French actor on the jury are five men and four women: British-American actress, director, writer and producer Rebecall Hall, Indian actress Deepika Padukone, Swedish actress Noomi Rapace, Italian actress and director Jasmine Trinca, Iranian director Asghar Farhadi, French director Ladj Ly, American director and writer Jeff Nichols, and Norwegian director Joachim Trier.


Rebecca Hall made her directorial debut with the striking Passing, released last year on Netflix

, and which premiered at Sundance Festival. She most well-known for her acting career, starring in Woody Allen’s Vicky Cristina Barcelona, Christopher Nolan’s The Prestige, and in television, in Susanna White’s Parade’s End.

Deepika Padukone is a huge star in India, starring in over 30 feature films. Padukone was the female lead in the action film xXx: The Return of Xander Cage, also starring Vin Diesel. Padukone has won two Filmfare Awards for Best Actress.

Noomi Rapace is most well-known for her role as Lisbeth Salander in the Swedish adaptations of Millenium. She starred in the eerie Icelandic film Lamb, directed by Vladimar Johansson, which was selected in the Un Certain Regard category in 2021.

Jasmine Trinca made her debut in Nanni Moretti’s heartbreaking The Son’s Room, which won the Palme d’Or in 2001. Trinca has won many awards throughout her career. In 2017, she won the Jury Award for Best Performance, for her role in Sergio Castellitto’s Fortunata. In 2009, she received the Marcello Mastroianni Award at the Venice International Film Festival.

Asghar Farhadi is a two-time Oscar winner, for his films A Separation (2011), and The Salesman (2016). His films have been selected many times at the Cannes Film Festival. The Past, in 2013, earned Bérénice Bejo the Best Actress Prize at Cannes, and The Salesman, in 2016, was awarded Best Screenplay, with Shahab Hosseini winning Best Actor. Last year, A Hero, won the Grand Prix.

Ladj Ly won the Jury Prize in 2019 for his explosive film Les Misérables, which became a box office success, and was nominated at the Oscars. Ly is the founder of the film school Kourtrajmé.

Jeff Nichols’ film Mud, starring Matthew McConaughey, was selected for Competition in 2012. In 2016, his film Loving was also presented at Cannes. The film received Best Actor and Best Actress nominations at the Golden Globes for Joel Edgerton and Ruth Negga.

Joachim Trier’s lastest feature film, The Worst Person in The World, was presented at Cannes last year, where its lead actress Renate Reinsve won the Best Actress Award. Trier gain international critical acclaim with is first feature films, Reprise (2006), Oslo, August 31st (2011), and Louder Than Bombs (2015).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.